Our Hearts

“I just can’t take anymore pain,” she said as she looked up with tears streaming down her face. He looked at her, unsure what to say. She continued, “I love you, but there isn’t enough of my heart left to break. I’ve given you every piece.” She began to mumble and sob so hard he could no longer decipher what she said. She clutched his arm for support burying her face in it. He felt so much. There was so much he wanted to say, but how to say it? “Please,” he said as he lifted her chin so he could look into her eyes. He knew she was right. She had no more to give him. It was his turn. “I’ll do anything,” he said. “How can I be sure?” she questioned, “Are you just going to hurt me? They’ve hurt me too much. I have nothing to give you.” All at once he began to smile bitterly.

“I am here. I want nothing from you. I ask nothing of you. I desire your happiness alone.”

“How do I know you’re not lying?”

A look of horror spread across her face as he pulled out a knife. He dug it into his chest, and his heart began to glow red. He was cutting out his heart. For the next gruesome 30 minutes he dug his heart out of his chest. He broke ribs, tore apart muscles, and sliced through veins and aortas, but he got his heart free. It was glowing and bloody but still pumping when all was said and done. Then he look back to her. She had been watching him the entire time. Sometime while he was digging out his heart she learned what she had to do. So she removed her own heart. She held the shattered, burned, bruised pieces of a heart that remained with her. When he saw how abused it was, he wept. He dropped his knife and held his head with that hand. She just waited as he mourned on her account. When he regained his strength, he lifted his heart to the gaping hole in her chest. Neither one knew what was going to happen. They both watched as her chest began to grow back around his heart. At the same time, her own heart which she handed to him was healing itself. They watched in amazement as pieces of her heart grew back and were restored to completion. He began to get feeble as she healed. Soon he fell to the ground and his body began to decay rapidly starting with his chest and spreading from there. She realized the problem, his body needed blood. She quickly knelt down to put her heart into his rotten, decayed chest. “Will we be okay?” he asked. “This time my love,” she replied.

Glowing heart

Leave a comment